Dollhouses

Because part of my project involves a miniature house I thought it would make sense to do a little research into dollhouses (although my house is on a smaller scale). The design of my house is obviously quite different as I don’t intend on having it open up for people to see, it would reveal too much; the only way it is to be viewed is through windows and small gaps/cracks. Detail is very important to me so I was only really interested in the older, more intricate .

(While this is great for children it’s not nearly detailed or realistic enough for what I’m trying to achieve.)

http://www.lansdownelife.com/2013/01/modern-diy-dollhouse-furniture.html

Looking through all the pictures of dollhouses and dollhouse furniture took me back to my childhood quite a bit. There was a dollhouse shop near where we lived and I used to love going there and looking at all the tiny furniture and such (I got a dollhouse from there for my 10th birthday though the tiny furniture was well made and very expensive). They also had a catalog which I used to spend hours looking through. Now that I think about it small things have always fascinated me.

TudorKit 2005 victorian-dollhouse-kit
(I found this to be very relevant to what I’m trying to achieve with my house and felt really quite excited about finding this. I think I will do a brief bit of research on this artist.)

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2407273/Not-typical-dolls-house-The-eerie-model-home-inspired-Detroits-ruined-buildings.html

From here I began looking into the small details and more into miniature furniture; then the making of it.

http://www.letsbuildadollhouse.com/lbdhbuild%20a%20sofa.htm#.VRrASvnF-Sp

Because my little house is quite a bit smaller I am somewhat limited when it comes to the materials I might use. I’ll likely stick with thin cardboard, though I may bring some fabric into it.

Update:

I had the idea of possibly finding a really small working clock that I could have in my house as part of the back-story, but after searching around I realised that my house is just a bit too small for it. I decided I would instead paint the clocks around the house and make them appear to have all stopped at the same specific time. This will become a big part of the story and a detail I’m hoping people will pick up on without it having to be pointed out to them.

Leave a Reply

